Ball ended up in trash can.
I just wanted to tell you about a peculiar incident from last year’s (2022) Waste Management Phoenix Open.
Hayden Buckley made a stroke from a difficult lie, and then this happened:
You are right: His ball ended up in a trash can! How appropriate, how ironic!
2) What to do?
What is the correct procedure under the Rules of Golf in this situation?
Well, Buckley was allowed to play the ball as it lay, but of course he did not want to do that!
Since the trash can was an immovable obstruction, Rule 15.2a(2) allowed him to proceed this way:
- Find the estimated point right under where the ball was at rest, and…
- … drop a ball within one club-length of that spot, not nearer the hole.
And that was exactly what Buckley did while being guided by an on site Rules official. He was, of course, allowed to remove the trash can after having dropped, but apparently he did not.
As stated on Twitter, it seemed appropriate that this incident happened in the “Waste Management Phoenix Open”… 😎!
2nd time I’ve seen this in less than a year. Hayden Buckley just hit his ball into the trash can. Of course, it happens at the @WMPhoenixOpen! pic.twitter.com/KtWvLgjfgT
— Schwang17 (@Schwang17) February 11, 2022